NEW SITCOMS 2013

For this post, I will reference last years new sitcom review that I wrote at my old forum for this blog. You can read it here: http://thehollywoodrant.blogspot.com/2012/09/neighbors-and-other-new-sitcoms-2012.html

I will also reference another rant from this forum, and if you would like to read the whole thing, you can do so here:

http://thehollywoodrant.blogspot.com/2012/11/im-tired-of.html

Last year I reviewed Neighbors, Go On, Animal Practice, The Mindy Project, Partners, and Guys With Kids. Neighbors was my favorite and while I didn’t like The Mindy Project, I felt it had potential. I didn’t like the rest. As it turned out, Neighbors and The Mindy Project are the only two that are returning for a second season.

This year I’m reviewing Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Mom, Dads, Trophy Wife, and The Crazy Ones. (I’m also going to give We Are Men and Super Fun Night a shot, but they have yet to debut).

Brooklyn Nine-Nine: My DVR can only tape two shows at a time, and this time has already been reserved for Agents of SHIELD and The Originals, so I was hoping not to enjoy Brooklyn Nine-Nine, but It’s not only the best sitcom of the season, it’s the best of this and last season. I absolutely love this show and every character has already grown on me and I look forward to watching all the crazy shenanigans they get themselves into.

Mom: Anna Faris is one of my favorites. I love her and was going to give this show more than just a fair shot just because of her. And right up to the bitter end of its debut, I was actually enjoying it. I said the following about pregnancies in one of my first rants: I’m tired of babies and all baby related things. I think television is in a baby booming phase because it seems to me that every show has some sort of baby or pregnancy plot. New sitcoms are being made about new parents; old sitcoms are having characters get pregnant, dramas are having the “big dramatic twist” be a pregnancy. I’m just tired of it all.

Trophy Wife: Malin Akerman is also a favorite of mine, so this show was going to be on a longer leash from the start as well, but I did enjoy it. The first episode featured a great gag with Malin Akerman drinking a lot of vodka quickly and that gag provided us with a series of great scenes ( a drunken car ride with the x-wife, a meeting on the front lawn with two x-wives and a great conclusion I won’t reveal). I also enjoyed most of the other scenes in this show. So while I won’t be returning for a second helping of Mom, I have programmed my DVR to tape all episodes of Trophy Wife.

Dads: The first episode was terrible, but I hung on for the second and I’m glad I did. I laughed many times and am now in for the season. I don’t think this show will last too long and definitely won’t make it to season 2, but I’ll gladly enjoy the ride while it lasts.

The Crazy Ones: Sarah Michelle Gellar is yet another favorite of mine. Yes, I know, I do have a lot of favorite actresses, but whatever, I’m allowed to. I had the following to say about advertising agents in an earlier post:

While I’m at it, I’m goddamn tired of advertising agents on TV and in the movies. You would think half the country were advertising agents, because they’re targeting this demographic so often. Yes, I get it, when you have a character whose an advertising agent, it allows the writer to easily have life lessons learned throughout the show or movie give him or her the great idea for the advertising campaign they’re working on. It also allows for new and famous guest stars week in and week out. And no, lets not modernize this by switching to sports agent, Hollywood agent, or any other kind of agent.

And while The Crazy Ones featured every single advertising agent cliche I expected, I still enjoyed it. I hate myself for liking it and I feel like a hypocrite to all of my beliefs, but I love sitcoms and will gladly latch on to any 30 minutes I even remotely enjoy.

Posted on September 27, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

